Project 1: Typographic Portrait

The first day of the week and we’ve hit the ground running on this first project. It’s almost the end of class and I’m just now getting to the 2nd (of three) portraits. I asked for help on my first iteration, because it seemed like something was missing. I had followed the basic draft pretty closely, but it felt bare and uninteresting.

Typography - Accident

Screen Shot 2016-04-04 at 8.36.42 PM.png

After talking with the professor, it was clear that I needed to express a greater range of tools. This was my second iteration:

Screen Shot 2016-04-04 at 7.39.53 PM

Better, but not great. I added an organic shape and used the gradient tool to create a shadow effect. Still, the image felt a little too flat. One more tweak:

Screen Shot 2016-04-04 at 8.29.31 PM

This simple vertical offset creates a bit more motion and surprise. I’m not sure what more I could add or subtract at this point. On to my second portrait…

In order to create a three-dimensional “floor” I used the perspective grid tool:

Screen Shot 2016-04-04 at 8.29.56 PM

 

Typography Magic

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-04 at 8.29.03 PM

It isn’t really easy to see what I’m experimenting with just by looking at the image, but I have several elements that are grouped into logical objects. The “wand tips”are made using the rectangle Shape Tool, arranged above the Text and then individually grouped with their respective “T”s. Same for the “shirt buttons” on the “M”, as well as the top-hat. I’m not sure if this one would benefit from color or not. Perhaps I can use the gradient tool to give the “wand” more of a cylindrical appearance?

One thought on “Project 1: Typographic Portrait

  1. Carlin says:

    Great start Matt. The gradient tool is a great idea. If you want to get a bit more ambitious with your exploration, you could also experiment with the Stylize menu – drop shadows, outer glows, etc could add some really nice dimension to your objects and enhance the “magic”. It’s not a requirement, but might help you achieve some of your desired effects.

    Like

Leave a Reply

